Archive and Delete Users

How to manage user archival and deletion in your organization.

This article describes features that are only available in the Banyan Business edition and Banyan Enterprise edition.

For security reasons, Banyan handles Admins and Users completely separately.
- Admins manage access control security policies via the Banyan Command Center Web Console and API. To manage deletion of admins, refer to the articles on managing admins.
- Users use their Devices to access Services that are secured by Banyan’s enforcement components.

Motivation

Banyan integrates with your corporate Identity Provider so your end users can be authenticated via authentication federation. As your users authenticate via your IDP to register their devices and access Banyan-secured services, they get added via a Just In Time (JIT) mechanism to the Banyan user inventory. You can see yours user inventory by navigating to Directory & Infrastructure > Users.

In some scenarios, such as if an employee leaves a company, you may need to delete the user completely from your Banyan user inventory. In other scenarios, such as for compliance reporting, you may not want to see inactive users in your Banyan user inventory. Banyan allows you to archive and delete users for these purposes.

Because Banyan uses authentication federation with your Identity Providers and users are added to the Banyan user inventory via a JIT mechanism, the system of record for your user directory remains your Identity Provider. You must first remove users from your IDP before you delete or archive them from the Banyan user inventory.

Deleting a Single User Account

To delete an single user:

1.1 Navigate to Directory & Infrastructure > Users.

1.2 Search for and/or click on the user’s name that you wish to remove from the Banyan Command Center.

1.3 Once you have selected the user that you wish to remove, click on the “trash” icon on the top right to remove the user from Banyan Command Center.

Deleting Multiple User Accounts

To delete multiple user accounts:

1.1 Navigate to Directory & Infrastructure > Users.

1.2 Search for and/or click on the multiple users that you wish to remove from the Banyan Command Center. Once you have selected the users, they will be highlighted in the console.

1.3 Once you have selected the user(s) that you wish to remove, click on the “trash” icon on the top right to remove the user from Banyan Command Center.

1.4 Confirm that you wish to delete the selected user(s) and select delete.

Archive Users after Inactivity

Banyan supports automatically archiving users if they have been inactive for a specified amount of time in day(s).

1.1 Navigate to Settings > Advanced Settings.

1.2 Under User Inactivity, input the number of day(s) threshold to archive users automatically.

1.3 Select Update to confirm your user inactivity threshold.



Last modified: Aug 31, 2021